“There is a brighter world than this; and that the passage to it is speedy.”

Being this my first time reading this, I am quite taken aback by the references of that age still being absolute the same of our present times. Filled with truths of no expiration this book is nothing less than that of those who provide directed lessons to find positivty in your life.

Apart from it’s glorious literature and beautiful story, this book has made into my NO BORE- MULTIPLE READS list, because of it’s minimal required laughter lines and beautiful compassionate characters.

The story having caught my attention from the beginning, the author got my eye when he explained the one true love of my life, Sleep (of course the other true love of my love is reading this and going, ‘damn! she put me after sleep again!!’).  No one in this world might have ever loved sleep as much I do, yes they long for it and treat it as a luxury but haven’t made it a part of their lives like I do (NO! I am not lazy). So when the author goes..

There is a drowsy state, between sleeping and waking, when you dream more in five minutes with your eyes half open , and yourself half conscious of everything that is passing around you, than you would in five nights with your eyes fast closed and your senses wrapt in perfect unconsciousness.

I was awake like I’ve never been before, I’ve read my share of books but this line right there was completely written for me. Why this was the only line I thought was written for me, but then came this…

There is a kind of sleep that steals upon us sometimes, which while it holds the body prisoner, does not free the mind from a sense of things about it, and enable it to ramble at its pleasure.

Oh how beautifully has it been written, bet you never thought a girl could pick up a line or two about sleeping from a classic eh?! 😀 😀

There are other multiple truths that I happen to stumble upon like one with gender inequality, “From a woman, nothing else was to be expectedthis saddens me a little, not because it exists in that book, but it still exists in reality to-day!!

But from where comes this, also comes the line, “There is something about a roused woman: especially if she add to all her other strong passions, the fierce impulses of recklessness and despair: which few men like to provoke” Which speaks of how true the author is being to the circumstances without impacting his judgment to any situation.

‘We are all weak creeturs’

We ponder upon the pride of having men and people we can call us ‘our people’, yet we all know we are all weak creatures and to be accepting that is the true strength!! I guess the humility of that simple sentence will stick with me all my life.

Lastly, this one line..

Alas! How few of Nature’s faces are left alone to gladden us with their beauty.

The serenity of that sentence is just explicit. Also the way the author explains the pain of seeing people we love, “Oh! The suspense, the fearful, acute suspense, of standing idly by while the life of one we dearly love, is trembling in the balance” There wouldn’t be a single person who have lost someone dearly wouldn’t have shed a tear reading that line.

All in all, this was a very emotional read and quite enjoyable. I will definitely be picking it up over and over again to read my favorite parts. I suggest everyone who loves to read or not, to pick this book up and give it a chance till the 5th chapter before you put it aside as a too hard of a read.

Love,

Grace Anne

5 thoughts on “Charles Dickens’ Oliver Twist

Leave a Reply

