by Jen Sincero ****

I can’t wait to dig in about this book. It was a high up. low low and somewhere in the middle yet forever exciting kinda book. Read on.

Book Bio:

15843166.jpg

Jen Sincero, serves up 27 bite-sized chapters full of hilariously inspiring stories, sage advice, easy exercises, and the occasional swear word. If you’re ready to make some serious changes around here, You Are a Badass will help you: Identify and change the self-sabotaging beliefs and behaviors that stop you from getting what you want, blast past your fears so you can take big exciting risks, figure out how to make some damn money already, learn to love yourself and others, set big goals and reach them – it will basically show you how to create a life you totally love, and how to create it NOW.
By the end of You Are a Badass, you’ll understand why you are how you are, how to love what you can’t change, how to change what you don’t love, and how to use The Force to kick some serious ass.

Here comes trouble.. Now I know self help books are never usually above the cliche of “Think it, feel it and you’ll have it”, this book was no exception either. In fact it also includes a part of the good old mindfulness and meditation making a major impact on your life. Are the concepts utterly new? Probably not. Yet they are told from a how to do it now perspective rather than a theory with already proven facts.

I am a Hindu, but at heart I practice Buddhism which makes it easier for me to adapt and accept the tasks related to meditation and their impact from this book. Every page makes sense, makes you laugh out loud sometimes. The highlights of the book would be how the author is narrating in present, while writing the book included in the book.Β 

You can expect a lot of examples, quotes and many more trust the universe stuff but where the difference is, is that it makes you believe. That is one of the concepts in the book, the author strongly believes in the make-believe concept. In theory, if you haven’t already taken the hint, I loved this book. Yet it is not for me.

I am a 24 year old (to be 25 in exactly 3 weeks) living with my family, who loves dozens of subjects and is aiming to succeed in hundreds more. This book is intended for someone who is more clear about what is that they want in life, and saying I wanna be rich and famous or wanna live on a private island do not count as clear ideas. You have a idea, you wanna turn it into a business or a family or an institution, but are lacking enough support, this is for you. People like me need more finding your calling books before we can get to this.

The most compelling chapter for me was where the author describes an experience from her visit in India. I live in India and have been living here for ever, yet I am to meet the people like the people she met. I am guessing people are more kinder to foreigners. Because I sure as hell tried to pick up a conversation with strangers multiple times and all I got was a death glare or a cold shoulder, ouch.

Should you read it? Yes. It is totally worth your time. No matter where you are in life, this book will help you take it up a notch.

8 thoughts on “You are a badass

  1. This book is on my to-read-next-list, so, as much as I would love to read your review, I am going to wait until I can read it myself. I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction.

    I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

